A person must surrender a Florida license plate by mail or in person in the following circumstances:
- Cancel Florida insurance on the vehicle
- Sell the vehicle without transferring the license plate to a new vehicle
- Florida law requires all sellers to file a Notice of Sale. Click here for more information.
- Move to a new state and register the vehicle in that state
When insurance is canceled and motor vehicle records indicate the vehicle is still registered in your name with a valid license plate, the Bureau of Financial Responsibility, Division of Driver Licenses, requires that the license plate be canceled to avoid a driver license suspension.
Your driver license will be suspended if you fail to surrender your license plate when you sell your vehicle and are not transferring the plate to a replacement vehicle within a maximum of 30 days. When you surrender your plate, a new vehicle registration will be printed indicating the license plate is canceled. Retain the “Surrendered Registration” receipt.
To surrender your Florida license plate, bring the license plate, registration, and the most current decal/sticker to one of our offices.
If you have received a letter from DHSMV to surrender your license plate, please choose “Reinstatement” under Driver License Option when you sign in with QLess (sign in here). Bring the letter and license plate with you. Fees may apply for reinstatement of driving privileges.
Surrender by Mail or Drop Box
Any license plate received without the surrender license plate form will be returned to the owner of record. If you have received a letter from DHSMV directing you to surrender your license plate to avoid a suspension of your driver license, a $6.25 service fee will be required to clear the pending suspension from the DHSMV database. Use the online driver license check to verify your driver license status.
You may contact the Bureau of Motorist Services to further discuss your situation: 850-617-3000 for 24-hour automated assistance or 850-617-2000 to speak with a representative during normal business hours.
Note: Additional reinstatement fees may apply for other active sanctions on your record.
After filling out and printing the surrender license plate form, send the form, plate, and applicable fees to:
Escambia County Tax Collector
P.O. Box 1312
Pensacola, Florida 32591
Click here for office locations to surrender by drop box.
Click here for the surrender plate form.