The Escambia County Property Appraiser is responsible for maintaining property record ownership, including address changes. To change the address associated with your property tax account, you can complete, sign and mail the Property Tax Change of Address Request form found here to Escambia County Property Appraiser, 221 Palafox Place, Suite 300, Pensacola, Florida 32502-5836.
When qualifying for Homestead Exemption, you will need the following documents for all owners applying:
- Florida Driver’s License or Florida ID if you do not drive (change address online here)
- Florida car registration (change address online here)
- Florida Voter’s ID (if you vote) (change address online here)
- Immigration documents if not a U.S. citizen.
- Must be a permanent resident (have a green card).
- If you have a temporary visa, you cannot claim homestead exemption.
All documents must reflect the address of your homesteaded property to claim the exemption.
For more information on homestead exemption, please visit the Property Appraiser’s website here.
The earliest payment of 2018 property taxes authorized by Florida Statute is June 1, 2018 under the quarterly installment plan.
Sections 193.1554 and 193.1555 limit the assessment increases for specified non-homestead real property to 10 percent each year. Property will be assessed at just value following an improvement, as defined by general law, and may be assessed at just value following a change of ownership or control as provided by general law. This limitation is repealed effective January 1, 2019, unless renewed by a vote of the electors in the general election held in 2018. This limitation does not apply to School District taxes and takes effect for the 2009 tax roll.
Section 196.183 authorizes an exemption from property taxes of $25,000 of assessed value of tangible personal property. Tangible property is defined as property used in a business. This provision applies to all taxes and takes effect for the 2008 tax roll. In order to qualify, a timely and accurate tangible personal property tax return must be filed with the property appraiser by April 1 of the assessment year.
Section 193.155 provides for the transfer of accumulated Save-Our-Homes benefits. Homestead property owners will be able to transfer their Save-Our-Homes benefit to a new homestead within one year and not more than two years after relinquishing their previous homestead.
If the new homestead is established on January 1, 2008, the previous homestead must have been relinquished in 2007. If the new homestead has a higher just value than the previous one, the accumulated benefit can be transferred; if the new homestead has a lower just value, the amount of benefit transferred will be reduced. The transferred benefit may not exceed $500,000. This provision applies to all taxes and takes effect for the 2008 tax roll.
Section 196.031(1) increases the Homestead Exemption by exempting the assessed value between $50,000 and $75,000. This exemption does not apply to School District taxes and takes effect for the 2008 tax roll.
Amendment 1 was approved by the electors on January 29, 2008 and is now part of the Florida Statutes. It covered the measures detailed below.
- Repeals obsolete language on the Homestead Exemption when it was less than $25,000 and did not apply uniformly to property taxes levied by all local governments.
- Provides for Homestead Exemptions to be repealed if a future constitutional amendment provides for assessment of homesteads “at less than just value” rather than as currently provided “at a specified percentage” of just value.
Exemptions and special classifications in Escambia County:
- Regular Homestead Exemption
- Additional Homestead Exemption
- Over 65 [Senior] Homestead Exemption
- Widow/Widower Exemption
- Medical Disability Exemption
- Veteran Partial Disability Exemption
- Total Disability Exemption
- Veteran’s Total Disability Exemption
- Veteran’s Discount
- Military Homestead Exemption
- Assessment Reduction for Living Quarters of Parents or Grandparents
- Tangible Personal Property Exemption
- Assessment Limitation on Non-homestead Properties
- Save Our Homes
- Portability of Save Our Homes Benefit
- Wholly and Economic Development Exemption
- Agricultural Classification
Contact the property appraiser for information on exemptions and eligibility requirements.
If you have the regular Homestead Exemption, are age 65 or older, and you meet certain income criteria, you may qualify for an additional Senior Homestead Exemption. For the County, this exemption is up to $50,000; for the City, the exemption amount is up to $25,000, depending on eligibility criteria and assessed value. This exemption applies only to county and/or city taxes. To determine qualification for this exemption, contact the property appraiser.
For more information on homestead exemption, please visit the Property Appraiser’s web site here.