Know Before You Go – Driving Exam

Know Before You Go – Driving Exam

Driving exams are offered at our Marcus Pointe and Warrington offices by appointment only. Limited walk-in testing is available at our Marcus Pointe office on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday mornings as staffing permits.*

Vehicle Requirements for Driving Skills Test

  1. Valid registration
  2. Proof of insurance. Florida registered vehicles must present Florida insurance.
  3. Must pass a basic vehicle inspection at our office. See page 89 Florida Driver Handbook.

The skills test cannot be given if any of the above criteria are missing.

Florida Learner Permit Holders – Bring the Following

  1. Current Florida learner permit
  2. A parent must be present or parent must sign Certification of Driving Experience (if under age 18)
  3. Must have held a learner permit at least 12 months or until 18th birthday, whichever comes first, with no moving traffic convictions
  4. Eyeglasses/contact lenses if required for driving
  5. Minors must be accompanied by a licensed driver over age 21
  6. Payment for required fees
  7. See all testing requirements in section 12 of the Florida Driver Handbook

Out-of-state Transfer or Unlicensed Applicants – Bring the Following

  1. Current driver license and Real ID documents
  2. A parent must be present or parent must sign Certification of Driving Experience (if under age 18)
  3. A parent must be present or parent must sign Parental Consent Form (if under age 18) (Step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted the minor child)
  4. Must have held a learner permit at least 12 months or until 18th birthday, whichever comes first, with no moving traffic convictions
  5. Eyeglasses/contact lenses if required for driving

Know Before You Go – Driving Exam

  1. Minors must be accompanied by a licensed driver over age 21
  2. Payment for required fees
  3. See all testing requirements in section 12 of the Florida Driver Handbook

Note: Applicants applying for their first Florida driver license will be required to:

  • Submit all Real ID Documents
  • Complete a four-hour drug and alcohol course (unless presenting a driver license or learner permit)
  • Successfully complete the written exam (unless presenting a driver license or learner permit)

Note: Florida statute requires all minors to hold a learner permit for at least 12 months or age 18, whichever comes first.

Walk-in Testing

*Our offices experience high customer volume on the first and last days of every month and around holidays. Walk-in testing may not be available during these times.

Inclement Weather

Office managers will suspend driving tests in severe weather conditions such as gale force winds, severe lightning or thunderstorms, flooded streets, heavy fog, etc.

Passengers

With the exception of approved interpreters, no other passengers are permitted during the exam.

Rental Vehicles

If the person taking the test is listed on the rental agreement as an authorized driver, he or she must show proof of personal PIP/PDL insurance or proof he or she have purchased PIP/PDL insurance through the rental car company.
If the person taking the test is not listed on the rental agreement as an authorized driver, the person whose name appears on the rental agreement must show proof of personal insurance and give his or her written permission for the vehicle to be used for the driving test.

Photography or videography

  • Photography or videography is not permitted within our facilities or during driving exams
  • Dash cameras must be turned off during the road skills testing
  • To protect other customers’ privacy, a backdrop area is provided at all locations for celebratory photographs