First, you will need to complete a four-hour traffic law and substance abuse education (TLSAE) course. This is sometimes called a first-time driver course. A list of approved providers can be found on the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Providers page.
Next, your written exams must be completed. The handbook can be found on the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ Handbooks & Manuals page. Testing can be completed in all offices. Please check office policy to verify if an appointment is required. If you are under the age of 18 you may be eligible to test at home under the supervision of your parent, legal guardian or responsible adult over the age of 21. Whoever supervises the exam at home must be present in the office to certify the proctored exam or have applicable forms completed:
- 71142 PARENTAL CONSENT FOR A DRIVER APPLICATION OF A MINOR (PDF) – Document must be signed by a parent or legal guardian (step-parents may not sign unless they have legally adopted the minor child).
- 71143 CERTIFICATION OF DRIVING EXPERIENCE OF A MINOR (PDF)
- 71144 PARENT PROCTORING OF ON-LINE DRIVER LICENSE TESTING BY A MINOR (PDF)
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles offers a Practice Test for learners.
Be prepared to show your Real ID documents, have your photo taken, and your vision checked. If corrected lenses are required, please have them with you.
If you are under 18 years of age, you are required to maintain your learner permit for 12 months with no moving violations or until you are 18 years old.
If you are 18 years of age or over, you are not required to maintain permit for any specific length of time.
Once you are eligible to be upgraded to a driver license, you will need to schedule an appointment at either the Marcus Pointe or Warrington Office.
NOTE: Driving Exams/Road Tests are by appointment only.
Additional information can be found here.